According to Julie

I miss the boredom and the freedom and the time spent alone

4 Comments

I’m growing up, and I can relate to this one MGMT lyric, from a song I used to listen to at parties, so much more now:

Yeah, I’ll miss the boredom and the freedom and the time spent alone.

I like my life now. I don’t miss being single or broke and I definitely don’t miss the general insecurity (financial, emotional, mental) of being younger. But sometimes it feels like there is too much going on, too many people who depend on me, too many projects that would stop if I didn’t do the responsible thing all the time. I’ve tried to write about this, but nothing describes it better than that one line.

Does anyone know what I mean?

Somewhat related post about growing up: In an alternate universe, I’m American

4 thoughts on “I miss the boredom and the freedom and the time spent alone

  1. I think I know what you mean. It’s tough to be the responsible one all the time; it feels like it’s one of the requirements about adulthood. That’s one reason I envy kids; they seem so much more carefree because they don’t have to worry about that yet. But one thing that helps me is making time for myself (even just one hour a week) to do what I want to do; it gives me a break from everything else. Usually I go to a cafe and write, and that helps me get through all my other work because it gives me some time to clear my head. (By the way, I had to put down an old e-mail address I no longer use, because my comments on wordpress blogs always end up linking back to my e-mail account.)

    • Writing longer blog posts here is one of the things that give me a break from everything else!

      (That e-mail thing is weird. It’s supposed to be set up so that if you put in a website, it will link back to the website, not your e-mail. And you have a great blog that your comment should link to. Putting in the e-mail is just so that I can reach you, but it’s totally possible to use a fake e-mail address.)

  2. Pingback: The real status update about millennials | According to Julie

  3. Pingback: Why it got so quiet here | According to Julie

Leave a Reply

