According to Julie

This week

5 Comments

I read

I listened to

  • Amon Tobin, supposedly "a dense, plunderphonic kaleidoscope of an album with giant, noisy jazz breaks and groovy electronic synthwork" which I mainly used to drown out background noise in the university corridor
  • Mika, I hadn’t thought I would enjoy the whole album as much as I enjoy the first song, but I did. You wouldn’t think that he could get away with some of his lyrics and still be able to stay mainstream, but the music in itself is just so sweet.

I watched

  • Mean Girls, sometimes the most over-the-top, stupid teen movies are really the most believable. Unfortunately. (Oh, and a quote which I might one day use to insult someone: "Her clothes look like they were picked out by a blind Sunday school teacher." It’s kind of like the one from Peter’s Friends (which is a great movie, one of those that my parents have watched so many times that I knew most of the lines by heart long before I knew what they meant): "You make Mother Theresa look like a hooker.")  
5 thoughts on “This week

  1. “Amon Tobin, supposedly “a dense, plunderphonic kaleidoscope of an album with giant, noisy jazz breaks and groovy electronic synthwork” which I mainly used to drown out background noise in the university corridor”
    hahahahahahahahahahaha : )

  2. Michael – thank you for introducing me to new things. I actually like Amon Tobin better than 4Hero. I think it’s the jazzy stuff. But as you can see, I haven’t really listened to (as in concentrated on) it. Because I’m preoccupied.

  3. hei! no problem. I’m glad that you even take time to listen to this “weird” stuff, its just the context you put this record in was rather funny – “supposedly a plunderphonic album”, which was only good enough for drowning out background noise. I know you meant it well, but my first reaction was still a laugh (not at u, but of the fact that music was merely good enough for drowning the background noise).

  4. and Mika album sucks a** ; )

  5. Michael – It’s better than “just good enough to drown out background noise”, but that’s basically what I’m using music for these days. And Mika is fun.

Leave a Reply

